“Getting On,” A Poignant HBO Comedy about Aging & Death?

Friends, HBO has a new show, called “Getting On” about the women who care for elder women in a facility. It is a comedic drama. Has anyone seen it? Is it laughs at the expense of elders? I tried to upload the home page to see a preview and it crashed my computer, so I don’t have a review.

However, after hearing the Fresh Air interview with the creators, I now know that it is based on their experiences advocating for their mothers as they aged in institutions. And the ways in which they talked about the beauty of time spent caring for them moved me, as well as their attempts to honor the work that care workers do. And I like Molly Shannon, who is in the show. So there it is.

If you’ve seen it, I’d love to see your review!

3 Responses to ““Getting On,” A Poignant HBO Comedy about Aging & Death?”


  1. 1 Sandra Alinger January 8, 2014 at 5:17 pm

    Hi there…Getting On is in our “my DVD” file on our tv…if you know how to access it. We watched one episode and I enjoyed the humor because it was reminiscent of moms situation. Loving gentle care in a very bizarre setting definitely benefits from some humor. As does infant/toddler daycare. Roger didn’t like it but I was considering watching another episode. It’s life.

    Sandra Alinger

    >

  2. 2 Lee Lee January 8, 2014 at 6:04 pm

    Well darn! I don’t get HBO and have no clue about the program. Sounds like something I’d like to watch, however.

  3. 3 judy judy January 12, 2014 at 12:44 pm

    I have seen 6 episodes and enjoyed every one


Leave a Reply

The Author

Meika Loe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 148 other followers

Top Clicks

  • None

