Gratitude and Sadness, Gramps is Gone

May-July 2012 016Dear readers,

I have had a hard time writing, because the elder who inspired my research and so much more, my last remaining grandparent, and one of my best friends in life, is gone.

This week we – Gramps’ family – will gather in his home one last time for Thanksgiving. We travel with hearts full of gratitude and heavy with sadness.

A line from my Gramps’ favorite Streisand songs runs over and over in my head: “People who need people are the luckiest people in the world.”

I now see that I really needed my grandfather, and he was there for me. I feel so lucky to have had 40 years of unconditional love and support from Gramps. I have learned so much about politics, movies, well-being, kindness, and generosity from this man. And I am convinced that Gramps made it his primary goal to boost the confidence of those he cared about. So I always felt needed and loved by him. How cool is that?

I am thankful for the closeness of the family he left behind.  In many ways, Gramps fostered and sustained family togetherness and ritual that we will always treasure. Like modeling gratefulness. One funny Thanksgiving Gramps announced how proud he was that his family wasn’t into drugs. In fact, our success (above and beyond being drug-free) was largely his doing – he ensured that we all had the the college education he wasn’t able to afford. And there he was, cheering for us the whole way.

There is so much left to say, but I will leave it here for now.

I feel deep gratitude for the many gifts my grandfather shared, and the memories…

We will leave a big piece of pecan pie out for you, Gramps.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
8 Responses to “Gratitude and Sadness, Gramps is Gone”


  1. 1 Sarah Rosensweet November 25, 2013 at 1:58 am

    Dear Meika, I am so sorry for your loss. What a beautiful post and tribute to your gramps. Hearts warmth, Sarah

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. 3 Nancy Fairbanks November 25, 2013 at 2:22 am

    A very eloquent and touching post, Meika. Your gramps will live forever in you – he is now wherever you are. Thinking of you, Nancy

  3. 4 Sandra Alinger November 25, 2013 at 3:16 am

    I enjoyed this entry. I’m sorry I didn’t have the opportunity to get to know this fine man, your Gramps. You can’t understand until you’ve been a grandparent but I know how proud he was of all his grandchildren – and with good reason. His family legacy is the greatest contribution of his successful life.

    Cheers and loving memories to all of you as you celebrate Thanksgiving. We’ll be with you in spirit. Love, Sandra

    >

    • 5 Anna Muraco November 25, 2013 at 4:08 am

      Meika, I’m so sorry to hear this news. Thank you for sharing it with us. I’m so glad that your Gramps inspired your work, so that your work can inspire others. Take care, Anna

  4. 6 Evan Chartier November 25, 2013 at 3:36 pm

    I am very sorry to hear of your loss Professor Loe. He sounds like a great mentor. Very touching post. Have a great Thanksgiving break.

  5. 7 dkzody January 3, 2014 at 5:31 pm

    My condolences on your loss. Sounds like your grandfather was a terrific guy and a very special grandpa. My goal, after the grandchildren were born, has become to be a terrific grandma so that when those babes are 40,50,60 years old, they will say, “I had the best grandma.”


Leave a Reply

The Author

Meika Loe

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 147 other followers


